Currently Listening: Passion Pit

IMG_8346

For my next installment of the Currently Listening: series, I decided to focus one of my favourite bands, Passion Pit. Passion Pit is very close to my heart, as I have liked them for a long time, and I discovered them myself, and whenever I play their songs I get flashbacks of memories.

Passion Pit is an American Indietronica (Indie Electronic) band that was formed in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 2007. The band is comprised of six members, Michael Angelakos (provides lead vocals and keyboards), Chris Hartz (drums), Aaron Folb (bass/synthesizers), Giuliano Pizzulo (guitar/synthesizers), Pete Cafarella (synthesizers), and Ray Suen (guitar/synthesizers.) However, the latter five members only perform with Michael during live performances, as instead of a band, the track in the studio is consisted of all electronic mixes.

In the fall of 2008, the band’s EP, Chunk of Change was released, and their public reception is what started this band. In 2009 Passion Pit released their debut album Manners. This album received extremely good critical reception, which would then lead into their follow up album, Gossamer, being released in 2012. This is when I first discovered Passion Pit. I heard Carried Away and I was in love. Their sound was nothing like I heard before. It reminded me of a happy, disco type song (great description, I know). Once I heard this, I was just completely in love with this band. I soon bought the whole album, and I listened to the album non stop. On April 21, 2015, Passion Pit’s third album, Kindred, was released. There are 10 songs on the album, and they are all unique in their own way. Most of these songs are more electronic, but some fit into the rap genre. I don’t usually enjoy rap, but I really enjoy these songs. Even though this came out over a month ago, I’m still absolutely obsessed with this album. I really feel that Passion Pit has something to offer to everyone. No matter what kind of genre you like, you’re bound to find a song to love.

I really feel that Passion Pit are underrated as a band, and I think they deserve a lot more attention, as they are absolutely amazing. I really hope that after this post, you’ll check out Passion Pit, and will begin to love them as much as I do.

One thought on “Currently Listening: Passion Pit

Leave a Reply

