Best of 2014: Etc

IMG_8241

Best of 2014: Etc. Today’s post marks the last instalment of my series, Best of 2014. It’s only 3 months late! 😉 Today’s post is a large one, as it’s talking about my favourite music, books, and movies of 2014. This year has been a good year for music, movies and books for me, both new and old.

Books:
Perks of Being a Wallflower:
I first read this in June of this year, after becoming obsessed with the movie. This has become one of my favourite books I’ve read to date. It looks like a fast read on the outside, but the book is actually really intense and serious, and makes you concentrate on it, making it not the easiest read. I absolutely love it though. I read it again after starting high school, and I’m understanding the book differently than I was in June. This is such an amazing book, and one that I’d recommend to everyone. I published a review of this book back in June, so if you’re interested in reading it, you can find it here.

The Hobbit:
This year could pretty much be nicknamed ‘Year of the Hobbit’. I had to read this book this past year for English, and I’m so glad I did. I became obsessed with The Hobbit, and I don’t know how I’d be without this. I’ve read this so many times now, and it never gets old. This book is written so incredibly well, and the characters are extremely well developed. Thanks to this book, I have taken an extremely liking to Thorin Oakenshield 😉 But besides that, this book has never left my side since. A more in depth review is coming your way shortly.

Fangirl:
I read this in April last year, and although I haven’t read it recently, I still remember it as an extremely well written book. This book focuses on a ‘fangirl’ type thing that is quite different and unique to the young adult novel scene. After reading this book and Eleanor & Park, Rainbow Rowell has become one of my favourite authors. Her books for young adults are extremely well written, and she focuses on subjects much different to other YA books. This book focuses on a girl who writes fanfiction about two book characters (These book characters are based off of Draco and Harry of Harry Potter), and her experience as a freshman in college. I wrote a much more detailed review of this book, and if you are interested in this book, you can do so here.

Harry Potter Series:
The book that’s pictured here is the Deathly Hallows, though I was actually thinking of putting a picture of the whole series, but decided against it in the end. I don’t know what I would’ve been like if I didn’t read this series. They became one of my favourite books, and have honestly become a huge part of me. These are so insanely well written, and they’re really fun and interesting to read.

Movies and TV:
Perks of Being a Wallflower:
perks_of_being_a_wallflower_xlg
I read this before I watched the movie, and I got to say I’m glad I did. Reading this before I read the book, made me understand the book much more easily. This is a great adaption of the amazing book. The choice of actors and actresses made the movie even better than it already was. I remember a distinct time in June and July where I watched this non stop. Watching it again once I was in high school really made me enjoy this to a new extent. 

The Hobbit: Battle Of The Five Armies:
The-Hobbit-Battle-of-the-Five-Armies-poster-9-691x1024

This is by far my favourite movie of the year, and one of my favourite movies to date. I saw this movie twice, and I honestly want to see it again. I saw it opening day with my English class and it was one of the best experiences of my life. This is by far my favourite movie out of the three, which is really saying something as I absolutely loved the first two. This made me laugh, cry, and smile. This was a great conclusion to the Hobbit series, and for Peter Jackson’s Middle Earth. Although the book has been modified to fit the movie, the modifications that were made really enhanced the viewing of the movie. Let me just warn you though, that this is a real tear jerk. I am counting down to when this gets released on DVD, and I am honestly so excited to binge watch it. 


The Lego Movie:
P0410-The-LeGo-Movie-Poster-cloth-fabric-printed-24x36-inch

Seeing as I’m a little kid at heart and I love LEGO, I thought this movie combined two of my loves into one great movie. This movie focuses on a so called “average” Lego man, Emmet, who discovers that he himself is The Special, also known as the “most interesting person in the entire world.” This focuses on his mission as the Special, and things really take a turn during the second half of the film. Even though this is targeted towards little kids, it’s definitely a great movie for people of all ages.

The Office:

420122
This show hands down is my favourite TV program ever. I watched the whole series during the summer, and I can’t believe what an amazing series it is. I’m almost finished rewatching the series for the second time, and it’s hard to believe, but I’m enjoying it even more than before. There are countless scenes that will make you laugh so hard you will cry. This is such a feel good program, and if I’m ever having a bad day, this show cheers me right up. Even though this show is completely scripted, the amazing actors and actresses in The Office make this show come to life. I have so many scenes saved onto my computer, for when I need a laugh or a pick me up.

Music:
For the music portion of the ‘Best of:’ series, I created a Spotify playlist of all my favourites over the year.

Leave a Reply

