Listens. Reads. Watches. June 2014

I’m back for another Listens. Reads. Watches. post. This month has been quite a good one, especially in terms of new music and books. A lot has happened this month and I have discovered a lot of new things.

LRW June_Fotor

 

It’s a Beautiful Day – Michael Buble
Piano – Ariana Grande
Mother – Said the Whale
Narrows – Said the Whale
I Love You – Said the Whale
Willow – Said the Whale
On the Ropes – Said the Whale
I Could Smoke – Said the Whale

This month’s music is much different than last month’s. Most of my music this month is indie, besides the Michael Buble and the Ariana Grande song. This past month I have been really loving Said the Whale, an indie band. Their sound is very different to “Top 40” bands, which I appreciate. If you want to find out more about them, you can read my blogpost I published yesterday here. “It’s a Beautiful Day” by Michael Buble oddly enough, has become one of my most listened to songs of the month. It’s such an up-beat song, and being that Michael Buble is Canadian doesn’t hurt either. My last song is a new one to me, though it’s been out for a while. It is Piano by Ariana Grande. I originally heard this song in a store in the mall as I walked by, and I was hooked. I managed to figure out what the song was, and ever since then I’ve been playing it non-stop.

Reads:
The number of items in my ‘Reads’ column is pretty big this month. I have five favourite blogs, blogposts or books. Let’s start off with books.

My first book I read this month was Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. Yes, I told you I’d be buying this book right after I mentioned the movie in last month’s Listens. Reads. Watches. This book is freakin’ amazing. If you thought the movie was good, read the book. You will be blown away. Even though this isn’t a very thick book in terms of pages, this isn’t a book you will just fly by. This book requires quite a lot of thinking in order for you to completely understand the book, otherwise, you will be confused with what you’re reading. If you’d like to read more of my thoughts, you can do so here.

My next book favourite is The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider. This book is a story about a guy named Ezra Faulker, a high school senior who had it all. That was until he got into a car accident. Come his senior year, his popular guy rep is no more. He is no longer to do the thing he is good at: tennis. He decides to join Speech/Debate where he finds himself very interested in a girl named Cassidy Thorpe. She’s mysterious, and she doesn’t like to talk about her past. I would describe this as an unconventional love story with a twist. The ending is very sudden and very unexpected as the book is leading you in a completely different direction. If you are looking for an easy read, I would recommend you checking this book out.

The last favourite book of mine that I read in June is Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. I actually also read Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, but this was my favourite out of the two. This book is the sixth book of the Harry Potter series, so I would definitely not recommend reading this one before all of the others or only reading this one. You will be confused and the book won’t be as pleasurable. That aside, this Harry Potter novel has become one of my favourite books in the series. This one deals with darker material, unlike the earlier books, and this book ends on rather a dark note. But, it has Draco Malfoy in it. In fact, Draco Malfoy is one of the main characters in this book, which I love. (High five to all the Draco lovers out there!) Even if you don’t like Draco Malfoy (how could you not like him? Seriously) You would still thoroughly enjoy this book.

For my blogpost favourite of the month, it has definitely been Anna’s Fragrance Wardrobe. Anna has an amazing taste in beauty, fashion and fragrance, so I thought this post would do no wrong. The only thing it has done to me is now I seriously want to make a Diptyque fragrance purchase. I love Anna, and I think it’s really cool to see what kind of fragrances different people like. Come on Philosykos, be mine.

My favourite blog to read has definitely been Meggy Grace. Even though this is a tumblr page, I have been enjoying it nether the less. Meggy’s photos are amazing, and she always recommends the best products. She seems really confident which I admire but she also seems so nice. Her tumblr is such a pleasure to read, and I’m always excited to see her new posts.

For my Watches. category, I have three items. My first one is the movie The Fault in Our Stars. I saw this right after it released with my best friend, and let me just say, many tears were shed. Most of you already know from my many mentions on my blog that The Fault In Our Stars is my favourite book in the whole wide world which meant I had to see the movie. The movie was awesome. It included a lot of the topics covered in the story, which I liked, as lots of times film adaptions completely change the storyline or plot. I’m happy to say this one did not. Even if you haven’t read the book, I guarantee you will love the movie. The second and final movie I loved this month was We’re the Millers. This is one of the funniest movies I have ever watched in my life. It is so freakin’ funny, I laughed so hard I cried. The storyline is basically of a drug-dealer who goes undercover to smuggle drugs across the US border. In order to do that, he ropes up three very different people, all different lifestyles, to help him pose as a family, “The Millers”. The characters in this movie are so well developed, and you really get an understanding of their personality. This is one of the best movies I’ve seen in a while, and is definitely one for a night in.

My last favourite of the month is a Youtube video. This Youtube video is Lisa Eldridge’s Alexa Chung Makeup Tutorial starring Alexa Chung herself, in the flesh. If you know me, you know I love me so Alexa Chung. She’s basically flawless. This video was amazing, as Lisa Eldridge is pretty much the queen makeup artist, and her and Alexa together is just a match made in heaven. I absolutely loved that her model was actually Alexa Chung herself, as that just made the video even more amazing.

I hope you guys all loved this month’s Listens. Reads. Watches. I really enjoy doing these and I hope you do too!

Leave a Reply

