Listens. Reads. Watches. May 2014

MAY LRW

Listens. Reads. Watches. Welcome to my newest monthly instalment, Listens. Reads. Watches. This is a monthly post where I talk about my favourite music of the month (listens), favourite books or blogposts (reads) and favourite TV show, movies or Youtube videos (watches). I have been thinking of doing a type of post like this for a while now, and I finally came up with a catchy title. I’m always interested in people’s lifestyle favourites, and I know some people have been interested in what my favourites are. I love reading these because I discover so many new things from these posts, mainly new music, and I feel like they are such interesting posts to read. I hope you enjoy this new instalment.

Listens.

Pompeii – Bastille
Can’t Remember to Forget You – Shakira feat. Rihanna
Headlights – Eminem feat. Nate Ruess
MMM Yeah – Austin Mahone feat. Pitbull
The Walker – Fitz & The Tantrums
Problem – Ariana Grande feat. Izzy Azalea
Sing – Ed Sheeran
Classic – MKTO
Demons – Imagine Dragons

Yes, I am well aware that all of my songs are currently on the Billboard Top 100 chart. I am currently trying to expand my music love to include more indie music. My favourite band (Passion Pit) is indie, and I’ve been trying to find more indie music I would enjoy. Recently, a friend of mine (you know who you are 😉 ) recommended to me an indie band that she listens to, and, honestly, I cannot even begin to explain how amazing they are. You may be wondering who they are. I’m not telling you just yet who they are, but they will be featured on my blog very soon. That aside, I think I had a fairly successful month in terms of music. I have been loving Pompeii for a while now, and the streak is still continuing. I did discover a couple of new artists (Iggy Azalea and Fitz & The Tantrums) which is pretty good, I think. My other main song of the month has definitely been Classic by MKTO. I also discovered MKTO this past month from another friend, and this was my main song of the month, especially in the first half of May. I feel like we need to just take a moment to appreciate the beauty that is Tony Oller. Just me? Okay then.

Reads.

I read a lot of interesting books and blog posts this past month and some of them I find myself referring to them a lot. I finished Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire this past month, and also read Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and Alexa Chung It. If there was a person of the month, it would be Alexa. She is flawless. I really enjoyed the lifestyle posts mainly this past month, especially LLYMLRS’ post on blogger love. I can honestly say I can agree with her 100% on that topic and it was such a compelling read. Also one of my favourite posts is ITG’s interview with Alexa Chung. What can I say? She’s queen. Gone Girl was such an amazing book. It had such an interesting plot/storyline that was very unique to the story. I felt myself sitting at the end of my seat, as this was such an exciting novel to read.

The MUJI Top Drawer – gh0stparties
Alexa Chung – Into The Gloss
Something to Declare – Inthefrow
Reasons to Be Happy – gh0stparties
Skincare Products for Hormonal Breakouts – essiebutton
thoughts & ways to show blog love – LLYMLRS

 

Watches:
For watches I only have two picks, both movies. The first one is Perks of Being a Wallflower. Honestly, this movie was life-changing. I watch this movie everyday after school while I’m doing homework or typing up blog posts. It makes me so darn happy. The characters are great, and the cast gets an A+ (Logan Lerman, seriously? **insert heart eyes emoji here**) The plot is amazing, and it’s such an interesting movie to watch. I don’t think I will ever get tired of it, and I can honestly say that it has become one of my favourite movies. My second pick is the new Disney movie, Maleficent. This movie is about the witch, Maleficent who appears in Sleeping Beauty, and casts a spell that on her 16th birthday before sunset Aurora will prick her finger on a spinning needle and die. Of course, things don’t go as planned. This story has such an amazing backstory on Maleficent, which makes the character that much more interesting. Their is a major plot twist that you won’t see coming, which I thought was a good thing. Disney picking Angelina Jolie to play Maleficent was a spot on choice. I can’t imagine anyone else playing Maleficent. Angelina played the role absolutely perfectly. Elle Fanning as Aurora was also an amazing choice, and she looked absolutely gorgeous. Sidenote: The makeup for this movie was absolutely incredible. Just sayin.

I hope you enjoyed my first Listens. Reads. Watches. post! This was a ton of fun post to write and I look forward to writing more.

Leave a Reply

