Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl

I was originally planning on titling this post “Best Book Ever” or “My Favourite Book” but I thought that might spoil everything. Well, if you couldn’t see from the title of this post, today I will be reviewing Rainbow Rowell’s other novel I have recently read, “Fangirl”.

This is not an average novel. The topic is quite out there, and not a lot of authors would probably focus on a fan’s view of something. That’s what I’ve noticed about Rainbow Rowell’s writing. She doesn’t write about common or popular things, though if she does she changes them enough to make them her own, which I find quite refreshing due to the lack of variety of topic in many YA novels.

I love the topic that Rainbow chose to focus on in the novel, the common “fangirl”. Many of you may not what a fangirl is, so I thought I might as well explain it. A fangirl is a person, usually a female, who has a major obsession with something. The obsession topics range, but usually it’s either actors, TV shows, movies, bands or books, usually of the fantasy or science fiction genre. Many fangirls also “ship” people. I would probably consider myself a fangirl, as I have shipped many times (Dramione anyone?) and have a crazy obsession about a band called One Direction. I found I could relate pretty well to the story, as I do consider myself a fellow fangirl. The female main character of the book is an eighteen year old college freshmen student named Cath/Cather, who writes fanfiction about her favourite series, Simon Snow (Simon Snow is a close parody of Harry Potter). Her fanfiction turns out to be wildly successful. She also has a twin sister named Wren, who has started to drift away from Cath, and does not see eye to eye on everything anymore with Cath. They turn out to be quite opposite of each other, as Wren is outgoing and would rather go out versus Cath who’s an introvert and would rather stay in. She is left alone in college with no friends, until her roommate Reagan begins to warm up to her, and they become quite close. Reagan has a boyfriend Levi, who Cath criticizes many times for being too happy.

I really enjoyed reading Cath’s fanfiction entries about Simon Snow and Baz (a vampire, who’s also his roommate) relationship. It was quite interesting to see how Cath thought the last book of the Simon Snow series should be about. I too imagine in my mind how I would’ve liked books to turn out, versus what actually happens. Of course, I have never actually written my thoughts and stories down like Cath, though I think it would still be entertaining and interesting, as you can make it your own and anything can happen. Instead of how Cath imagined Simon and Baz being gay, I could relate to this as how Cath believes Simon and Baz should be gay, I think that Draco and Hermione would’ve been the most perfect couple ever. It would never happen of course, but Dramione is something I, for lack of words, “believe” in. Cath’s thoughts about the book and the characters made the book extremely interesting to read.

This is quite different from the other Rainbow Rowell novel I read, Eleanor & Park. There still are boy-girl relationships featured in Fangirl, but it is not as an important topic compared to Eleanor & Park, where the whole story revolved around a boy-girl relationship. I have never read something to do with fangirls, which made it quite different for me to read, but entertaining never the less.

As I said in my previous review, there are no stereotypes shown in this story compared to the classic YA novels. This book is very “modern” as the term “Fangirl has only been used in the last few years and so, same being with shipping and fanfiction. I also found this very interesting as I do occasionally read fan fiction, and it is interesting to see it from another person’s point of view.

My favourite character in the book would probably be Cath or Levi. I love Cath because of the things she says, does, and acts. She seems to me as an awkward person, as it seems like she is more comfortable writing about Simon and Baz then actually talking to real people. This also makes the way she sees things quite differently from another person’s perspective. She also strikes me as a funny person due to her quirky personality. The main reason I love Levi so much is probably because he’s so outgoing. As mentioned many times in the book, he talks and smiles to everyone he sees, thus making every feel happy and welcome. I wish I could be like Levi, in the sense of smiling to everyone he sees, as I feel like everyone would appreciate him and he loves making people happy.

Many of you are probably still wondering, “why is this her favourite book” or “has she really found a book better than The Fault in Our Stars?”. Yes everyone, madness I know. But it is true. This book has taken the spot of my previously all-time favourite book, TFIOS. Don’t get me wrong, I still majorly love that book, but I’ve found something even better. Why I like it? I honestly don’t have a real answer. It’s all the contributing factors in the story that makes it such an amazing novel. The characters, the plot, and the overall storyline. This is not an average YA book. It is so much more than that. So yes, this book will take the place of TFIOS on my nightstand, ready to be read at any given moment. If I said to run out and go to the bookstore for Eleanor & Park, I would have to say that you have to run out the door and drive to the bookstore (or library, though I am most likely betting you would like your own copy of this book to read whenever you’d like) and pick it up and pay. This book is a must-have. I guarantee you will like it, and it just might become your favourite book!

Leave a Reply

