what’s in my makeup bag.

Hi everyone! Ever since I came back from my vacation about a month ago, I’ve decided to change things up makeup wise. I’ve decided to keep it all in my makeup bag, as I think it adds a cute touch.

Ted Baker Makeup Bag

First off let’s start with my makeup bag. My makeup bag is is from Ted Baker. It has a jelly like finish which makes it quite unique. This is a great quality and while it is expensive, it’s worth it.

Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer

Since I have quite oily skin, I have to use a primer. My personal favourite is the Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer. This is pricey, but it is well worth the money. It makes your skin so smooth and illuminated and is the perfect base for my foundation. This has a liquidy texture which I love because I’m not a fan of silicone based primers. This prolongs my foundation wear hugely. Even though it is expensive, you do not need a lot of product to cover your face and I think this is well worth the money.

IMG_8806

For my foundation I have been loving my trusty Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Foundation. This has a very liquidy consistence but manages to give good coverage. I like a light to medium coverage base, and this is perfect. It’s incredibly creamy and it blends like a dream. Again, a pricey item, but I believe if you should splurge on any item in your makeup kit, it should be the base products.

For my concealer picks, I have two. The first one I have is the much hyped about NARS Creamy Concealer. I wear the shade shade Chantilly, which happens to be a perfect match for my skin tone. This provides amazing full coverage, and it’s also very potent meaning you need hardly any product to cover blemishes, dark circles or imperfections. My next concealer is a concealer for my under eye area. It is the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Eraser. It has a good amount of coverage and covers my dark circles with ease. It is a budget buy so it’s a good purchase if you’re tight on cash.

Em Powder

Now let’s move onto powder. I have recently been trying out this Em by Michelle Phan Love Me For Me Powder. I haven’t used this enough to do a full review, but what I’ve noticed so far is that it is a weightless, light coverage, silky smooth powder.

To start off any eye look, I use an eye primer. My personal primer of choice is NARS Pro-Prime Eyeshadow. This is a white eyeshadow base the turns clear on the lids, and is a perfect adhesive for eyeshadow. This makes such a difference to the wear of the eyeshadow.

IMG_8807

For my eyeshadow, I have quite a few options. For my first option, I chose the newish released NAKED3 Palette. This might become my favourite palette as I find myself wearing all of the shades, and I since I love rosy tones, I love this palette. These are such wearable colours, and I find that colours such as these really enhance blue eyes. These also wear for a very long time.

NAKED Basics

My next option is another eyeshadow palette by Urban Decay (surprise surprise), and this time it’s the NAKED Basics Palette. This has five matte eyeshadows, and one satin finish eyeshadows. Since this palette (almost) only contains matte shades, it is easier to pull off that ‘no makeup makeup look’. These are super soft and very pigmented, and is also very travel friendly.

Rimmel Scandaleyes Shadow Paint

My next eye product is a new product to release, the Rimmel Scandaleyes Shadow Paint in Rich Russet. I wanted to get my hands on this ever since Lily Pebbles mentioned this, I knew I had to get it. This is a bronze cream/liquid eyeshadow. This is one of the longest wearing eye products I own, even without a primer. I usually dot this on my eyelids, and blend it with the MAC 217 brush.

For my mascara, I am currently using the Rimmel Scandaleyes Retro Mascara. I have been using this for a couple of months, and I am impressed. This has an hourglass shape wand, and I am able to reach all my lashes with ease. This can get a bit spidery, but the best way to avoid that is to go slowly with the application. This builds a ton of volume and length to my lashes. It’s also inexpensive so that’s a plus.

My final eye product is a nude eyeliner. My nude eyeliner of choice recently has been the NYX Wonder Pencil in Light. This is a 3 in 1 product, as it is a reverse lip liner, a concealer, and a nude eyeliner. I haven’t used this pencil for beside lining my waterline, but I can imagine this pencil would be good for all three as it is a perfect match for my skin.

IMG_8815

For blush, bronzer and highlighter I have three products. My first product is blush and it it the Tarte 12 Hour Amazonian Clay Blush in Tipsy. This is a bright vibrant, matte orange coral. This has great lasting power and is a nice colour for spring and summer. I love coral blush, and this one has made it to the top of my collection.

My next pick is my go to bronzer, my NARS Laguna. Perfect colour for sculpting and bronzing the skin. This has a bit of shimmer which brings more light and definition to the face, while still looking extremely natural. This seems to be an everlasting product for me as I have had this for over a year and still haven’t hit pan on it.

IMG_8814

For my highlighter pick, I am using my recently acquired Dior Amber Diamonds Shimmer Powder. I had been wanting to pick this highlighter up for a while now, but it is on the more pricey side and I just never got around to it. I’m happy that I received this for Christmas, as I have used this everyday since receiving it, and it just might be becoming my favourite highlighter in my collection. This powder contains five different shades of highlighter ranging from a light vanilla champagne to a light peachy gold.

IMG_8804

For lips I have quite a few options, most of them being glosses. For my first product pick, I have two shades of the NYX Butter Glosses. I am currently using the shades Tiramisu, a nude, and Apple Blondie, a bright peach, resembling MAC’s Pink Lemonade. These are non-sticky, hydrating and pigmented glosses. They have a decent amount of pigmentation, and they are very shiny. These make your lips look full and hydrated with a dose of colour. They also smell delicious.

My other gloss choice is the NYX Xtreme Lip Cream in Nude Peach Fuzz. This is a long-lasting liquid lip colour. On my lips it comes out more as a nudey coral, but on other skintones the colour of the lip gloss ranges. This is such a good budget buy, and so so pigmented. But be warned, the smell is HORRID.

Finishing off my lip products, I have two lip balms, one tinted and one clear. The tinted lip balm is from NYX, and it is their Butter Lip Balm in the shade Parfait which is a bright pink. This surprisingly does have quite a dose of pigment for a tinted lip balm. This is inexpensive, hydrating and it smells amazing.

My last product of them all is the Maybelline Dr. Rescue Baby Lips in Too Cool. This is a menthol based formula, so you know it’s going to be hydrating. This is just a clear lip balm with no tint to it. This smells terrible, so don’t be expecting to smell all fruity like the other Baby Lips. I find that this really does hydrate my lips, and for the price, it just can’t be beat.

Along with this post, I will be starting a brand new weekly series post. It will be posted later today.

-Lauren

Leave a Reply

