How to Get a Better Night’s Sleep

Let’s face it. Sleep is heaven. But when you don’t get enough of it, you most likely will have no energy, or be in a bad day, and nobody wants to be around with people like that. (I’m sure you wouldn’t either). You may just have a late bed time, lay in bed thinking, or just think that you’re not tired. But trust me, sleep is precious. Do you have trouble falling asleep, or you just want to know how to stay asleep. In this post I have products and simple ideas for better sleeps.

Go to Bed Early

Alright, I’m not going to lie. I used to go to bed at around eleven o’clock’ at night, and would either stay up on my phone (usually on bloglovin, YouTube, twitter, or instagram) or do last minute homework. I know, shame on me. I wake up at 5:40 in the morning to deliver papers, and six hours wasn’t cutting it for me. Then I decided to go to bed at 9:30. Boy, did I feel better the next day. I felt much more energized, and overall I was in a better mood. Even if you can go to bed 20 minutes earlier than usual, it will make a difference.

 No Screen Time

One of the main culprits in not getting enough sleep is good ol’ electronics. Everyone loves them, but not everyone knows that it is not good for you to be on your computer when you should be falling asleep. When you use your device for a while, and try to fall asleep afterwords, you will find it very difficult to fall asleep. This is because your brain is still functioning. Your brain needs a certain amount of time to “wind down” and bright light from computers is actually preventing it from happening. So next time you’re really tired, don’t text your friends, tweet, or reblog on tumblr. Power off your electronics. You will fall asleep so much faster and stay asleep.

 Play Some Music

Who doesn’t like music? I sure do, and I listen to it almost 24/7. But did you know that music can also help you fall asleep? Just pick some of your favourite slower songs and compile it into a playlist. Or download the app Rain, Rain. It plays calming rain sounds, and also has a sleep timer so you can set it for a specific amount of time to play. I have a playlist on both my iPad and iPhone titled “Sleepy Songs” and I listen to it nightly. Some of my favourite songs in my playlist are: One Direction – Moments, Mindy Gledhill – This is My Song, and One Direction – More Than This. Tip: Do you wanna set your music to play for a specific amount of time, and not play all night long. In order to do this, go to Clock, select Timer, enter a specific amount of time, at the bottom, in between Start and Stop, there should be a selection for what to do when Timer Ends, select Stop Playing Music, and start both your music and your timer. Now your music won’t be playing all night!

 Read a Book

So for this idea, I would suggest either your favourite book, or a boring book, preferably a textbook. What I like to do every night before I go to sleep is read a chapter of my favourite book. Whenever I read my favourite book (The Fault In Our Stars by John Green) I get a certain feeling of calmness and I find it easier, after I finish my chapter to fall asleep. If you’re wide awake and feel like you’re never going to be able to fall asleep, read a boring book like a textbook. That is unless you enjoy school. If you do, well then, all the power to ya! But for the majority of the people school is boring. So why not let it help you fall asleep. Flip to a random page, and begin reading it. I guarantee that you will get bored and begin to doze off. When nothing else works, just read your textbook!

 Write in a Journal

Whether you just broke up with someone, you are nervous about something on your mind, or you’re just really excited about something write it down in a journal. When you release your thoughts on a piece of paper, you begin to calm down and “calm your senses”. Write everything that is on your mind, whether it is good or bad, and just let it flow out. You will be much more relaxed by the end of it, and will find it much easier to fall asleep.

 Don’t Procrastinate with Homework

This has to be the biggest lesson you should learn in school. Don’t procrastinate. If you do, you get crappy grades, and can be behind in school. If I said don’t procrastinate last year, you could call me a hypocrite. I was great at procrastinating, and bad at getting work done on time. But if you do homework right when you get home from school, you have the rest of the evening to do whatever you want. If you don’t procrastinate, you produce higher quality work, therefore getting better grades. No one likes to do homework, but that’s something we all get to do involuntarily, so stop complaining and do the work. When you get your report cards, you will be amazed at how much your grades have improved. I have been working super hard this year because of not procrastinating and most of my work is between 85% – 100%, and all of my tests are coming back 90% or higher. In order to not procrastinate, hand things in on time and produce quality work, I recommend using a planner, whether it’s the Reminders and Calendar app on your iPhone, a notepad, or a physical planner, write assignments down and when they’re do. If you’re really a go getter (I do this all the time) make the assignment due a couple of days early. Then when everyone else is rushing the night before, you’ll be relaxing.

 Use a Pillow Mist

If you just need to get in a relaxing and sleepy state, use a pillow mist. Some specific smells, including lavender and chamomile makes you calm, and sleep easier. Simply spray this on your pillow, let it absorb and let the dream world take over. My favourite pillow mist is the Aromatherapy Sleep Line from Bath and Body Works, both the Lavender Vanilla and Lavender Chamomile.

 Drink Tea

I love me some tea, so having it at bedtime is even better. Though keep in mind, some tea contains caffeine, and will not help you relax, and will actually rather make you stay up. Make sure to avoid Maté teas in particular, as this tea contains the most amount of caffeine. Look at tea targeted/called “sleepytime” as these normally contain chamomile and other relaxing ingredients. Also, do not add sugar, as this will get rid of the benefits of the tea, so you will still be awake, even if you drank the tea.

So those are all my tips on how to get a better night’s sleep! I hope I helped you in some way, and if you have a tip on how to get a better night’s sleep, feel free to leave a comment tomorrow. Come back tomorrow for a new post!

-Lauren

 xoxo

One thought on “How to Get a Better Night’s Sleep

Leave a Reply

