September and October Favourites

Unlike all the other beauty gurus, I think October seemed to go on and on and on. But we’re getting so close to Christmas! So being the procrastinator I am, I forgot to post my September Favourites. So while I’m doing my October Favourites, I might as well just put them in too!

Sept Favourites:

IMG_7347

 Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Foundation
IMG_7356
I have been meaning to do a review on this, as this has been mentioned twice in the past months favourites. This a light coverage foundation that can be built up to medium coverage. It looks very natural and never cakey.

Estee Lauder Eyeshadow Duo in Raisins
IMG_7355
Before I do a review of this, I have to say that I believe that this is getting reformulated or they’ve discontinued this duo. I cannot find it anywhere online, so I would suggest going to your local department store to see if they have any left in stock. That aside, I will do the review. This is an eyeshadow duo that has two colours, one for the lid, and one for the crease/outer corner. The lid colour is a peachy gold colour, with a bit of champagne in it. The crease/outer corner colour is a eggplanty purple with some brown undertones. This may look intimidating in the pan, but once it’s blended in the crease, it looks very nice. Overall this is a great eyeshadow duo, especially for the fall and winter seasons.

Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer
Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer
This product is nothing new. A clickable pen-like highlighting concealer used to brighten, specifically under the eyes. However, this is the one I have been using currently. I wear the lightest shade Ivory, which is the perfect match for my skintone. This is a medium coverage concealer, so it will cover up quite a bit, however, if you have fairly dark under-eye circles, you may need to put a corrector underneath of it first. I strongly suggest the Bobbi Brown Creaseless Corrector.

Rimmel Blush in Pink Sorbet
Rimmel Blush in Pink Sorbet
This blush has definitely made it into my favourite blushes category. This is a peach pink with a pearl finish. This is a blush that looks very natural, but can be built up for more intensity. I find myself reaching for this often, as it is a perfect everyday blush. This is a very inexpensive blush, and a great blush to buy, even if it was high end.

RealTechniques Expert Face Brush
RealTechniques Expert Face Brush
Honestly, I wasn’t a big fan of foundation brushes, but after using this brush, I most definitely am. This brand of brushes was created by Sam Chapman, one of the pixiwoo sisters. This brush was designed for liquid concealer and foundation. This blends foundation and concealer like a dream, giving my makeup an almost airbrushed finish. I currently am using it to blend my concealer on any blemishes, around my nose, and under my eyes. This also works very well for contouring, as I have also been using this with my NARS Laguna bronzer.

Bioderma
Bioderma
Wow. Bioderma. In ANOTHER favourites post. Who’d a thought? Yes, my skincare buddy Mr. Bioderma is back for another favourites post! This is a micellar water that you can use to cleanse, tone, and remove your makeup. I use this as an eye makeup remover in the evening, and as a refreshing toner in the morning to clean up my skin. I know that this is readily available in UK, France, and at Shoppers Drug Mart and Murale in Canada. For those who live in the US, I would suggest Amazon, as there are many listings for this.

Simple Facial Cleansing Wipes
Simple Cleansing Facial Wipes
These have to be one of the most talked about makeup wipes in the beauty community. While I was on my trip in the summer, I picked this up at Target, where it is $4.99 which is a steal compared to Canada’s price at $8.99. These are just plain simple makeup wipes. They take off all my makeup with ease. They are not irritating, and sense they are designed for sensitive skin, there is no scent which I think is a plus. I have been really wanting to try their toners and eye makeup removers, so those are next on my list!

October Favourites:
I seem to have a quite different array of favourites than usual, as I have much more skincare favourites than usual.

Makeup:

MAC Creme Cup, NYC Pressed Powder, Maybelline BB Cream, Urban Decay Primer Potion

Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Cream
So recently I haven’t been putting a lot of base products on, as I usually put a medium coverage foundation on, and instead I have been letting my freckles show through. This doesn’t have a lot of coverage but it’s been great for my skin recently, as I have been pairing this with my trusty NARS concealer and I’m ready to go.

NYC Smooth Skin Pressed Powder
So you obviously need a powder to set your foundation, right? Of course! This month I have been using a cheapie, my NYC Pressed Powder. This retails for $2.99 which is such a bargain for a powder this good! This is not chalky and translucent which I look for in an everyday setting powder. This is a nice finely milled powder that I would highly recommend that you pick up.

MAC Lipstick in Creme Cup
After watching many YouTubers talk about this lipstick I thought enough was enough. I needed to get this in my possession. I finally did, and I sure am glad. This has a Cremesheen finish, so of course it will be very creamy on the lips. It is a light natural pink, with a natural finish. As a lip product lover, you’d think I’d have enough pinks in my collection. But in fact I don’t have any! My whole collection consists of neons, reds, and nudes, but no pinks. Like usual, this MAC product is another winner. It feels good on my lips and it looks good too.

Urban Decay Primer Potion:
I know, I too was shocked that my favourite primer of the moment was not NARS Smudgeproof or MAC Painterly. At the beginning of this month, I just ran out of my NARS Primer. RIP Pal, you will be missed. For me, eye primer is essential as I have crazy oily eyelids. Not using eye primer is like not breathing (not quite that serious, but close enough). If I don’t use a primer, my eyeshadow will be gone in a few hours and I prefer mine to last the whole day. So I turned to this guy. I had used this a few times, but not enough to form an opinion on it. But I have, and I love it. It is tinted, so it will cover discolouration, unlike the NARS one, which is clear. The texture is also very different. This has rather a whipped almost moussy texture, rather than the silicone offering from NARS. This keeps my eyeshadow on all day, and no creasing. A+ from me!

Skincare:

Hydraluron, Bioderma, Grease Lightning

LUSH Grease Lightning Spot Treatment
My skin has been acting terrible this month. My skin has been freaking out, which really stinks. To try and combat the breakouts I have been using this on them. This is a gel that contains Witch Hazel and Tea Tree, and also Lavender to calm the skin. This is a rather gentle product, so don’t expect it to clear your blemish in one night. This doesn’t just help get rid of the blemish, it helps heal the area, so you’re not left with acne scars or as pigmented acne scars.

Hydraluron
I originally heard about this through both Caroline Hirons and Zoella, and how much they both raved about this product. This is a hydrating serum, meant to put on before your moisturizer, to make your moisturizer more effective. This contains hyaluronic acid, which is an ingredient to fight aging, but also can absorb up to 1000 times its weight  in water. Me being a teenager, I’m not at all concerned about the anti aging properties in this serum, but rather the hydration. My skin gets rather dehydrated in the colder months, and now that it is getting cold here in Canada,  my skin was beginning to become dehydrated. But this came to my rescue, and now it is a nightly staple for me. When I wake up in the morning, my skin feels plump, hydrated, and soft.

Bioderma:
Since this has been mentioned twice in the same post, just read up near the beginning for my whole review.

Candle:

Leaves Candle

Leaves
Because fall wouldn’t be the same without the stereotypical scent, Leaves. It has a nice crisp fragrance. It makes me feel all warm and cozy, which is essential for the colder months.

I hope you guys have enjoyed my September and October Favourites! If you would like to tell me what your favourites were, leave a comment below. Come back tomorrow for Blogvember Day 2!

-Lauren

xoxo

Leave a Reply

