August Favourites

Can I just start by saying how sad it is that summer vacation is over! I had one of the best summers, and I’m sad to see it gone. That being said, Fall is my favourite season! I didn’t have as many favourites as usual compared to previous months favourites. Never the less, I still have some! (obviously!) And once again, i never fail at publishing these at least half a month late!

1NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer

IMG_7004

So after so many beauty bloggers talked about this concealer SO much, I thought it was time for me to try it. This is a “radiant”, full coverage liquid concealer. There are a variety of shades and I guarantee that everyone will find a match for their skintone. I wear the shade Chantilly, which is a little too light for putting on spots and blemishes at the moment, so I use it as an undereye concealer, but once we reach the winter months, when I am more pale this will be able to be used as a spot concealer. This concealer is very potent, and it’s very easy to use too much. This retails for $28 USD/$30 CAD and can be fond on Sephora and NARS Online.

Jouer Matte Moisture Tint

This is another product everyone has been talking about recently. This is simply a tinted moisturizer with a matte finish. I wear more light coverage foundations and I tend to get oily in the summer, so anything that has “Matte” in the name, I’m basically sold. This has a thicker, almost whipped texture to it. This sets to a powder finish so it’s good for people with an oilier complexion. I wear the shade Porcelain which is a perfect match. This retails for $38 USD and can be found on Nordstrom, Jouer, and select Nordstrom stores.

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua

I recently acquired this on my past summer vacation as I was in need of a light coverage foundation, as all the ones that I brought were heavier coverage, and some days I just don’t want to have a whole face of makeup. This is a pricier foundation, as it Chanel, but I honestly would buy this AGAIN and AGAIN. Before you buy it I would suggest getting colour matched, as it would be a complete waste of money if you bought the completely wrong shade. This is a more expensive foundation, retailing at $45 and can be found at Chanel counter at Department Stores (Saks, Neiman Marcus, Nordstrom) as well as online.

IMG_7006

MAC Eyeshadow in Satin Taupe

This is basically my favourite eyeshadow ever. You can use it all over the lid, in the crease, or my personal favourite way, use it on your lower lashline. This is a taupe eyeshadow with some purple undertones, and it is also shimmery. It gives the nicest effect on the lower lashline. I have used this SO much this past month alone, I’m suprised I haven’t hit pan on it yet! This retails at MAC Stores and Counters for $15 USD/$18 CAD.

MAC Eyeshadow in Nylon

I have to be honest, I haven’t given this little guy a lot of love in the past. I loved it when I first got my MAC Palette, but I then “changed things up” if you will, and he was forgotten. Then one day, I was watching some of Tanya Burr’s videos and she always talked about how this her favourite eyeshadow for using on the inner corner, and she only uses this shadow for that. I pulled it out, just to see if it was as good as she made it sound, and honestly it is. It’s a lovely shimmery white gold that is reflective, so it’s basically perfectly perfect for the inner corners as it really brightens. This is a more natural inner corner, and if you want something with a little more brightness and pigmentation, I would suggest MAC’s Vanillla Pigment.

Clinique Bottom Lash Mascara

I love this mascara so so much. This is a itty bitty mascara with an itty bitty mascara wand that doesn’t smudge or flake. You don’t get a ton of product in the little tube but since it’s a tiny wand, you won’t be using a lot anyways. This has become the only thing I put on my bottom lashes and I can guarantee it lasts all day.

 Shu Uemera Eyelash Curlers

There’s not really a lot too say about this little guy. He’s rather expensive I tell you, coming in at $24. But I think, as long as it works, it worth the money. These are most definitely the best eyelash curlers. They curl them, and not just bend them and they hold their curl all day, even if you have stick straight eyelashes.

eos Lip Balm Sphere in Sweetmint

Let’s just start of by saying, this is one of the most delicious lip balms, ever. It’s cooling, tingling, and minty! This is a perfectlip balm to slip into your bag and use it when your lips need a pick-me-up. A budget buy coming in a $3. Side note: I would not suggest using this religiously as this can dry out your lips due to the addictive ingredients in the balm.

Covergirl Smoochies in #tweetme

This is a newer release from Covergirl, coming out right before Summer. These are basically tinted lip balms, replacing the Natureluxe Lip Balms, and I like these a lot more. They are much more hydrating, and they have more fun colours. This month I have loved wearing #tweetme, which is basically a ruby red with some shimmer. This isn’t the most pigmented lip colour, as it is only a tinted balm, but it gives a pretty was of pinky red on your lips!

IMG_7008

St Ives Green Tea Scrub:

I have heard a lot of mixed reviews on this scrub, and I needed a new facial scrub as I am running low on my favourite, Clinique Exfoliating Scrub, and I thought this might suffice until I buy the Clinique scrub again. This has a weird texture but has a very nice smell. It does help with blemish control as it does contain salicylic acid.

Wet Brush

A few months back this was all the rage. I didn’t really think much of it until I read more and more positive reviews about this brush. This brush brushes very well through wet hair as it has thin but flexible brushes. I only suggest using this when your hair is wet, as this does not help with tangles when your hair is dry!

L’Occitaine Almond Shower Oil

So after I had read countless beauty blogs talking about how soft this made their skin, I thought I might as well try it. This is a basically just an oil that smells really good and lathers when it comes it contact with water. I like to use this after I have shaved my legs and just lather this on it. I would suggest only using your hands to apply this, and not a loofah/scrubby as you won’t get as much oil deposited in the general area, if that makes sense! This is a tad expensive, but I will continue to repurchase this over and over!

One Direction and Best Song Ever

IMG_7011

If I could only pick one favourite for this month, it would be One Direction. I have always liked One Direction, but in August was the month I pretty much became obsessed with them. They’re  amazing, enough said. And their new song? Even more amazing! I could go on about them forever, but I highly doubt all of you would want to hear a whole post about  them, so let’s just save that for another day. If anyone actually wants a post dedicated to One Direction, comment below and I would be more than happy to do it for you guys! P.S. I’m a Harry Girl!

I hope you guys didnt’ mind how late this post was, but I really hope you have a great rest of September and I promise I’ll be getting a new post up soon!

 -Lauren xoxo

Leave a Reply

