The Summer Edit: Beauty

So what exactly is “The Edit”? It’s basically a collection of items put into one post, that all relate. Unlike Monthly Favourites, these are specific items that all “relate” to each other, for example “My Skincare Saviours”. This Summer Edit is Part One out of Four: Beauty, Fashion, Books, and Food! This is a bigger edit since I’m just basically picking things good for summer! To start off this section of my blog, since summer is here, I decided to devote the first “The Edit” post to my favourite season, summer!

Makeup:

Face:

IVtTbfNX3dhaz_ENttlzQHBWBF4jrMgZxED3Yg4ZQF0

1. Urban Decay All Nighter Long Lasting Makeup Setting Spray

This is a summer essential because it is long wearing. Since you are probably going to be sweating in the summer, this will keep your makeup in place! It is also refreshing!

2. Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Cream

This is in the shade Light Medium. I chose this because, for most part of the summer, I will be wearing this, instead of a foundation. According to the Maybelline website there are 8 benefits in this little tube of greatness: blurs imperfections, brightens, evens skin tone, smoothes, hydrates, enhances, protects with SPF 30 (A huge plus for summer!), 0% oils and heavy ingredients. This is a great match for my skin, and it leaves my skin nice and light and weightless.

3. Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation

As I said previously, I won’t be wearing foundation a lot, since it’s summer. Though if I’m going out some where and I want a little more coverage I will use this. This is a light to medium coverage foundation, but it is completely weightless once it’s on your skin! The main reason I chose this because it has a bit of luminescence in the actual foundation and it looks quite pretty on the skin.

4. Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Light

I chose this for summer for two main reasons: it makes your makeup last longer and it’s a water based primer. Water based primers are better for my skin I’ve realized, because they don’t feel as heavy on the skin. It also makes your skin SUPER soft. I notice a huge difference when I apply this before my makeup. This and the All Nighter make my makeup stay on for a LONG time.

5. Maybelline Dream Matte Powder

This is a great powder for touch ups. I use this when I need some coverage or I’m setting my makeup. This is a great budget buy, and a purse essential for me.

6. Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer

First off, two things: I like Maybelline (in case you can’t tell), and what is with all of the Dream stuff? It’s sorta confusing! Anyway onto the product. So this really could go with any season but I really wanted to put this in the summer category because I use it more in the summer. I use this for illuminating my face (a big trend for me in the summer), especially under my eyes. I make a triangle under my eyes instead of the typical half moon shape because instead of just highlighting the circles under my eyes, I’m accentuating that area, so I look more awake. Another budget buy! I also like how it’s very compact!

7. Physicians Formula Conceal RX

I first bought this because I heard it was the drugstore dupe of a concealer that I have been lusting for quite a while, the MAKE UP FOR EVER Full Cover. Since I wasn’t ready to spend $36 on a concealer, I spent $9 on this baby. This is a full coverage concealer that will cover anything with ease. This is a sweat proof and a water proof concealer. So in the summer, this bad boy ain’t goin anywhere!

Cheeks:

From left to right: Bourjois Bronzing Primer, Stila Convertible Color in Gladiola, NYC Smooth Skin Bronzer in Sunny, MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft & Gentle, Benefit Blush in Bella Bamba, NARS Laguna, Topshop Skin Glow, Tarte Clay Blush in Tipsy, (Not pictured: Rimmel Blush in Pink Sorbet, Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso)

From left to right: Bourjois Bronzing Primer, Stila Convertible Color in Gladiola, NYC Smooth Skin Bronzer in Sunny, MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft & Gentle, Benefit Blush in Bella Bamba, NARS Laguna, Topshop Skin Glow, Tarte Clay Blush in Tipsy, (Not pictured: Rimmel Blush in Pink Sorbet, Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso)

1sR7hP6tXF_4W_9OOo_2jgMushfYemjRjLQ5MNtO5Z0

1. Bourjois Bronzing Primer

This is a newer addition to my makeup collection. This has gained a rather big hype in the UK, and I knew I had to get it, as I had my eye on the Chanel Soleil Tan de Chanel, but I compared price tags and this was a better deal. This is readily available in the UK, but there are limited places in Canada where you can buy Bourjois, and it is almost impossible to get Bourjois in US. I bought this at Shoppers Drug Mart, one that has an extended beauty department, and the other place you can buy Bourjois products is Murale, Shopper’s sister company. I bought this for $24 which is a tad pricey, but i justified it because I wanted to do a review on it, which is coming soon. This is a creamy whipped bronzer, with a nice consistency. I like to put this on top of my makeup, rather than under it.

2. Stila Convertible Color in Gladiola

I originally heard about this from Estee aka Essiebutton. First off the colour. This is crazy bright! Or so you think. This looks very intimidating in the pan but once you blend this onto the apples of your cheeks, it transforms into a light mango colour. I only put this onto my cheeks, as this will look rather intimidating and wild on the lips. This is a tad expensive but I think it’s well worth the price. I couldn’t do a Summer Edit without mentioning a cream blush.

3. NYC Smooth Skin Bronzer in Sunny

This is an amazing matte bronzer. I bought this from Target for $2.99 which is a mega steal! This is a very pigmented bronzer that looks very natural on the cheeks. A plus? This doesn’t look orange or muddy on the face!

4. MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in Soft & Gentle

On a recent trip to MAC I picked up quite a few things, and this made the cut! I have been lusting over this for quite a while now, as I do not have very many highlighters, and that this was raved by almost every beauty vlogger/blogger. This is a shimmery champagne highlighter with gold veining, that makes you look well… Radiant! This is like a 2 in 1 Product: 1. highlight areas of the face, or use as an eyeshadow! This looks stunning especially on the cheekbones. If you ever stop buy a MAC counter, please just stop and look at it! You won’t regret it!

annAKMWO8dnA9Yd-sTu5Uc_oFolpgjqJpJWdOQZA9SY

5. Benefit Blush in Bella Bamba

Benefit describes this as a “3D Brightening Pink Face Powder. This is basically a shimmery bright pink blush. It looked scary because of how bright it was, but once it was blended out, it looked rather natural with a bit of shimmer.

6. NARS Laguna Bronzer

I noticed that this has a bit of shimmer, that looks SUPER pretty. This is a high end bronzer that I reach for constantly. It is a warm toned bronzer, but not too warm toned that I can’t wear it, as I have cool toned skin. I thought this would be too dark for me, but turns out it looks quite natural.

7. Topshop Skin Glow

This is a liquid opalescent highlighter. It looks really pretty and it reminds me of pearls :). This also looks really nice on the the brow bone or in the inner corner of your eye. This is a sheer highlighter.  This is low maintenance as it is a liquid, and you can apply it with your hands instead of using a brush.

8. Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Tipsy

I originally bought this because of the colour. Coral? “Yes please!”, said a girl with NO coral blushes. This is a matte coral blush that is an essential for summer. This lasts for ages, which is great for summer.

9. Rimmel Blush in Pink Sorbet (Not Pictured)

I forgot to put this in the picture but I had to mention it though. This is a warm toned pearly pink. I like to use this as a duo with Milani Luminoso: I apply this on the apples of my cheeks.

10. Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso (Not Pictured)

As I said previously, I use this as a duo with Rimmel Pink Sorbet, after I apply that on the apples on my cheeks, I put this up on my cheekbones to give me a nice glow. This looks really shimmery, and I love the finish of it.

Eyes:

qaq9NqT91OUA_z8wFpk6ej7kuBtyZnpAbef-c4zfjR0

1. Urban Decay Primer Potion and 2. NARS Smudgeproof Eyeshadow Primer

I can’t really decide which Eyeshadow Primer I like better. I couldn’t decide so I just put both in.

3. Maybelline Mega Plush Mascara

This is a water gel mousse formula mascara which I really like, and I’ve never heard of any other company doing a formula like the Mega Plush. Since it is a part water formula, I instantly thought of summer. This stays on well, and I would say it’s water resistant, not water proof.

4. Covergirl Clump Crusher Mascara

I chose this mascara mostly because it’s my favourite at the moment, and since I bought the waterproof version, the lasting power of the mascara. I can swim in a pool, and this will stay on. It is also clump proof, no matter how many coats you do.

5. L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Iced Latte

This looks beautiful in the sunlight. Its reflective so it almost has a 3D effect on your eyes. This is a really cool formula as it’s a pressed pigment so it feels really luxurious and soft. This is also a very close dupe to Stila’s kitten.

6. MAC Paint Pot in Groundwork

This is one of the other items I got at my latest MAC visit. This is a semi matte brown, but you can see the shimmer in the shadow when it hits the sunlight, which looks really pretty on the eyes. This is a really creamy shadow that wears all day and it’s crease proof.

7. Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadow in Bikini-Tini

To start it off how cute is the name? It’s perfect for summer. I like to use this as a base for my eyeshadows, and it looks super pretty in the sunlight as well. This has a thin consistency which is perfect for an eyeshadow base.

8. Mary Kay Cream Shadow in Coastal Blue

Another great name for summer. I thought this was a great colour to pull out for summer, as this is a nice blue! It looks intimidating but you can blend it out for a more natural look or build it up for a more intense look.

9. NYX Slide On Eye Pencil in Jet Black

This is a waterproof pencil that really stays put. I use this to tightline my eyes, and the colour will not budge. This is a true jet black, as some “jet black” eye pencils actually aren’t very black at all.

Lips:

wN5XFtpkm3q8BpY8s686e28IezfYZ1eBn7JkfozkE_g

Ha9Rva0O01X_mBn2sKth1uf23Yg6H94Ct3I2vomATzM

1. MAC Lipglass in Pink Lemonade

This is a nice summer colour. I also love the name. It is a pinky colour with a bit of an orange undertone. It has some shimmer in it. Like most lipglasses, it does have a tacky consistency which I don’t mind, but some will.

2. MAC Lipstick in Flamingo

I bought this recently from the All About Orange collection. This is a more pink toned coral lipstick. It is a lustre finish so it is a bit sheer which I also don’t mind.it

3. Revlon Super Lustrous Lipgloss in Pink Pop 

This is a medium opaque gloss that I sometimes wear on it’s own, or layer on top of the Watermelon Twist Jumbo Gloss Balm, as they are pretty similar colours.

4. Covergirl Jumbo Gloss Balm in Watermelon Twist

Gloss Balms seem to be one of the most have products of 2013 and I can definitely see why. This is perfect for summer because it’s a no fuss product and it’s enriched with mango and shea butter so it won’t dry out your lips. Some days I also layer this with Pink Pop for more color intensity.

5. L’Oreal Color Caresse Lipstick in Velvety Fuchsia

This is a lipstick that’s perfect for summer because of the colour and the no fuss. This feels like a balm instead of an actual lipstick. This colour is really interesting. It is a fuchsia with blue reflects. This colour can be built up or sheered down. I also love the packaging!

qvIPtUO8cKIZK38xGP0b5UWClqCt1nz07dtZcnDGqHY

6. Chanel Glossimer in 169 Jalousie

This is a beautiful fuchsia colour with blue reflects. It is a very opaque lipstick and you are able to wear this, and it looks like a lipstick. It is an expensive product but since it is Chanel, you should expect that. The packaging is lovely, and you get a fair amount of product in it.

7. Revlon Lip Butter in Sorbet

This was recently released in the Revlon Spring 2013 collection along with three other new lip butter shades.  This is a cool toned bright pink lip colour that can be built up or sheered out.

8. Maybelline Baby Lips

I chose these because I liked the formula and the color some of them provide. I chose the ones in Quenched and Cherry Me. Quenched is a clear balm that smells like vanilla and lemon. Cherry Me is a balm that provides a bit of a sheer red colour once on the lips. To see more of my thoughts of these click to read the review here. This was published before I bought Quenched.

_kPqI7VU_tWXzPnX6U7x6ImGhINjhP5czauoK0CMhAQ

9. MAC Sheen Supreme Lipstick in Blossom Couture

This is sorta similar to MAC Flamingo, the difference being there is more sheen in this, the colour is a few shades darker, and the formula is thicker.

10. Korres Lip Butter in Jasmine

Another tinted lip balm. This one is instead a potted balm and it has a thicker consistency compared to the Maybelline Baby Lips. This doesn’t provide a lot of color, but it looks great on the lips.

11. MAC Cremesheen Glass in Richer, Lusher

This is basically a lip gloss form of Flamingo. Since Flamingo is now one of my favourite lipsticks, this is becoming my favourite lipgloss. I like the Cremesheen formula. You get a lot more product compared to the classic Lipglass, even if i costs a few more dollars.

Skincare:

gptrC1x55309XgrKdmoGPMX1d-P5htIm_GlvEYgXDgA

Sunscreen:

1. Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry Touch Sunscreen

I really like the formula of this sunscreen as it is a lightweight formula and it drys really fast. It is not greasy, and it’s fine to use on your face.

2. Australian Gold Sheer Coverage Sunscreen

This sunscreen smells very tropical, which I like. It has a thick consistency and it lasts for quite awhile.

mRkWHKnNC5xVXH3o57ceAHmoXk4dXStNVrMB9WQZ2-s

3. Clean and Clear Morning Burst Fruit Infusion Hydrating Cleanser

This is a great cleanser. It removes makeup with ease. It smells great and it leaves my face hydrated and clean. I like the fact on how it has real fruit extracts.

4. Burt’s Bees Rosewater and Glycerin Toner

This is a very clarifying toner but it leaves my skin soft because of the glycerin. It feels nice on the skin.

5. Mario Badescu Facial Spray with Aloe, Herbs, and Rosewater

This is a very refreshing facial spray to have on the go, especially for hot summer days. If you’re are feeling hot, this will cool you down. It’s much more refreshing if you keep it in the fridge before hand. This has gained handbag status thanks to its refreshing properties.

Nail Polish:

Let me just say quickly that this is going to be a VERY long post as I have 21 nail polish picks. I’m sorry about that! I couldn’t narrow it down! Side note: If I do not have reviews of them, but I have pictures of me wearing them in will include them with the description of the polish.

DlC_HAF8Sd9yOd_coIfp3oGe_VUcqzq00STejjk2ZT4

From Left to Right: Essie The Girls Are Out, Sally Hansen Barracuda, Revlon Pale Cashmere, Essie Bikini So Teeny, Deborah Lippmann Mermaid's Dream, Ninna Solar Flare

From Left to Right: Essie The Girls Are Out, Sally Hansen Barracuda, Revlon Pale Cashmere, Essie Bikini So Teeny, Deborah Lippmann Mermaid’s Dream, Ninna Solar Flare

1. Essie The Girls Are Out

Screen Shot 2013-07-04 at 12.06.20 AM

Since I am currently wearing this on my nails, and I am planning for a NOTD post to be up later today, I will review it here until I publish the post, and I will redirect you to that post. This is a fuchsia creme with shimmer, almost like mini glass shards. As usual, it has a cheeky name, which is normal for Essie! 😉

2. Sally Hansen Barracuda

This is a beautiful robins egg blue which I love. It is pretty affordable and the colour is divine! The only thing is that you have to do thin strokes, as this is quite a thick polish, and can end up very gloopy if you’re not careful!

3. Revlon Pale Cashmere

I heard about this through Amarixe on YouTube. I wanted a very light pink colour, and this is the most “angelic” pink i’ve seen! Again with most of the Colorstay nail line, they do have thicker formulas and so you have to be very precise. To see all of my thoughts of this polish click the link here.

4. Essie Bikini So Teeny

If you want a more in depth review of this polish click here. This is a periwinkle blue creme with shimmer. I love the name. I originally chose this because it came out with the Summer 2012 collection.

5. Deborah Lippmann Mermaid’s Dream

I think this is going to be in my 2013 favourites because I’ve worn it so much! This is a turquoise based glitter nail polish with dark blue sparkles and circle glitter. For a full review of this polish click here.

6. Ninna Solar Flare

Screen Shot 2013-07-04 at 12.07.17 AM

This is a fluorescent yellow that looks amazing on the nails. It’s insanely bright and one of the best summer colours! The only con is that like most neon yellow polishes, it is quite sheer and streaky, and I would recommend using a white polish as a base.

Left to Right:: Ninna Solar Flare, Sally Hansen Pacific Blue, Essie Naughty Nautical, Revlon Buttercup, Essie Splash of Grenadine, Maybelline Poolside, OPI You're Such a Budapest

Left to Right:: Ninna Solar Flare, Sally Hansen Pacific Blue, Essie Naughty Nautical, Revlon Buttercup, Essie Splash of Grenadine, Maybelline Poolside, OPI You’re Such a Budapest

7. Sally Hansen Pacific Blue

This is probably one of the most talked about drugstore polishes around. Brilliant colour, a one coater, and a deal! It’s the whole package. I admit I wear this year round, but I always pull it out more in the summer!

8. Essie Naughty Nautical

This is a beautiful blue green that reminds me of the sea. I love the shimmer, and I think it gives the polish even MORE pizazz. This is currently being released with the Essie Summer 2013 Collection.

9. Revlon Buttercup

This is a creamy pale yellow color. Unlike most of the Colorstay polishes, this doesn’t have as thick of a consistency which makes it easier to apply. When I see this color I think of daffodils. This is definitely a hand nail polish colour, not a toe polish colour.

10. Essie Splash of Grenadine

This is a pretty magenta pink. This I think is more a toe polish colour. When I see it, I instantly think of the little umbrellas in drinks. Don’t ask me why, I just do.

11. Maybelline Poolside

This has currently released with the Summer 2013 Polish collection.It is a soft powder blue, almost white that looks beautiful on the nails. For the price point this is a nail polish that you must pick up!

12. OPI You’re Such a Budapest

Screen Shot 2013-07-04 at 12.07.34 AM

This is a cool toned lavender with a touch of blue. This was released with the Euro Centrale collection which released in the Spring, but you should still be able to find it at some places, or online. This has a tiny bit of shimmer in it, which actually looks quite nice on the nails.

Sally Hansen Lustre Shine Scarab. Essie Sunday Funday, Butter London Molly Coddled, China Glaze Flip Flop Fantasy, Essie The More The Merrier, OPI Cajun Shrimp

Sally Hansen Lustre Shine Scarab. Essie Sunday Funday, Butter London Molly Coddled, China Glaze Flip Flop Fantasy, Essie The More The Merrier, OPI Cajun Shrimp

13. Sally Hansen Lustre Shine in Scarab

Screen Shot 2013-07-04 at 12.06.59 AM

This is a similar color to SEPHORA by OPI Mermaid’s Dream, a colour that will be mentioned later, but they are actually quite different. Scarab has a dark blue base and has a dark green duochrome. The name is actually rather clever as Scarab beetles do look like this colour!

14. Essie Sunday Funday

This is an almost dupe for Essie’s Cute as a Button besides the shimmer. As I didn’t have Cute As a Button, and I’m a sucker for limited edition items, I knew that this had to be mine. This is a neutral coral with shimmer in it. Alongside Naughty Nautical, this is probably going to be the bestselling shade from the collection. This has also been released with the latest Essie collection.

15. Butter London Molly Coddled

This is a neutral lavender polish. For full review please see my review here. This is a very opaque polish, as you only need one coat. This also has a great wear time.

16. China Glaze Flip Flop Fantasy

To be honest with you, the wear time isn’t fantastic, it’s actually mediocre. I only really like it because of the colour, this is a bit more “salmony” colored than Sunday Funday. I would suggest using a top coat, as this dries to a matte finish.

17. Essie The More The Merrier

This is a bright chartreuse green. This is being released currently in the Essie Summer 2013 Collection. This is the only polish that is a creme and does not have glass reflects.

18. OPI Cajun Shrimp

This is a beautiful colour. It is a red-orange cream. This can be a one coater, but I sometimes like to build it up with two coats. This is one of OPI’s best sellers and I can definitely see why.

a1BLg0-l7VFPydNwVrTCb1dAgMCXmn27DRG23byCV5Y

19. SEPHORA by OPI Mermaid’s Dream

Unlike Scarab this is a turquoise based lacquer with light green duochrome instead of dark green. This is usually more expensive ($9/$12) but right now Sephora has a 50% off sale so its actually a better deal than the Sally  Hansen one currently.

20. Essie Full Steam Ahead

This is a very light lilac purple with glass reflects. This is on the cooler side of the spectrum, and I noticed that this had a bit of grey tones in the polish. This was one of the colours I wasn’t excited about originally, but this polish in real life has definitely changed my mind.

21. Essie Rock The Boat

Cinderella Blue is the best way to describe this colour. This is a light baby blue with glass reflects. It is one of the other colours that has really changed my mind.

Perfume:

Marc Jacobs Daisy Eau So Fresh Sunshine, Marc Jacobs Daisy Eau So Fresh, Jo Malone Orange Blossom, PInk Pretty & Pure Body Mist

Marc Jacobs Daisy Eau So Fresh Sunshine, Marc Jacobs Daisy Eau So Fresh, Jo Malone Orange Blossom, PInk Pretty & Pure Body Mist

1. Marc Jacobs Daisy Eau So Fresh Sunshine

This was a perfume that was limited edition for Spring and Summer 2013. I like the new take on the Eau So Fresh Scent as they have made this scent much fruitier with different fruits. This is also a great new take on the bottle. I love the pink bottle with the bright flowers. This is also a little more intense out of the two of them.

2. Marc Jacobs Daisy Eau So Fresh

This is an amazing perfume. It smells so good! It has a lot of light smelling fruits like raspberries, etc. This doesn’t last the longest on me, but I have no problem reapplying because it smells so good!

3. Jo Malone Orange Blossom

This is where everything changed. I started liking perfume, thanks to my baby, also know as  Jo Malone Orange Blossom. As soon as I smelt him, I knew he would be mine! Pure Orange fragrance? HECK TO THE YES! This basically just smells like pure oranges. I love Jo Malone fragrances because they’re so pure, and I also like that you can layer the scents to make your own custom scent.

4. PINK Pretty & Pure Body Spray

This is a really inexpensive body spray that’s perfect for summer. It has a top note of pink lemonade which you can really smell in the fragrance. At $8 it doesn’t break the bank!

So I hope you liked this post and the new series, if you have any suggestions for future posts, comment down below!

Leave a Reply

