May Favourites

So today I’m presenting you with my May Favourites. I have a lot this month, and as usual, I  thought I might as well share with you for what my favourites were. Let’s jump into things!

MAKEUP

FACE:

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Light

Photo 2013-05-30 4 28 17 PM copy

Yes, I finally bought this. One day while I was in Winners (The Canadian equivalent to TJ/TK Maxx or Ross) I went to their makeup section and I saw that this selling for $17! In the US it sells for $36, and in Canada it sells for $44 (I hate the huge price differences!), and I’m so happy that I found it. The problem is that they don’t have it anymore. Next time I go to the US, I’m probably going to buy a spare bottle of this. I prefer this to my Ulta Matte Prime Primer, just because I find that it’s not as thick as the ULTA one, and it’s a little more water based.

Stila Convertible Color in Gladiola

Photo 2013-05-30 4 27 51 PM copy

Photo 2013-05-30 4 27 46 PM copy

I discovered this from the wonderful Estee or you might have also heard of her as essiebutton, on her blog, or on youtube. This colour really interested me, because I don’t really have any brighter blush colours and I thought this just screamed summer. I am head over heels in love with this blush, and I know I will be using it all summer.

EYES:

Mary Kay Creme Eye Colour in Coastal Blue and Beach Blonde

Photo 2013-05-30 5 38 54 PM copy 

I haven’t been using these all month, but they are definitely a favourite. They are very pigmented, the texture is very nice, and the colours are amazing. I chose Beach Blonde cause I would figure it would be a good eyeshadow base, or good all on it’s own. I also chose Coastal Blue, a nice turquoise cream eyeshadow. Since I normally wear neutrals, this is a step out of my comfort zone. I have either been putting this in the outer corner or the crease, blending it, so it will not look so harsh.

MAC Eyeshadow in Satin Taupe

Photo 2013-05-30 4 29 40 PM copy

I have rediscovered my love for this shadow. This is a shimmery, taupe. I like to use it on my lower lash line, but it also looks great in the crease.

Urban Decay NAKED Palette – Smog, Sidecar, Naked

Photo 2013-05-30 4 30 41 PM copy

Photo 2013-05-30 4 31 10 PM copy

Photo 2013-05-30 4 30 59 PM copy

I have already reviewed this palette here, so if you haven’t read it yet, I highly suggest you do so here.

Naked – a nice light brown matte colour that I used all over the lid.

Sidecar – a warm toned champagne colour, good for a highlight.

Smog – a dark bronze. Perfect for the crease, outer corner, or lower lash line.

Urban Decay NAKED 2 Palette – Snakebite, Suspect, YDK

Photo 2013-05-30 4 30 27 PM copy

Photo 2013-05-30 4 31 54 PM copy

Photo 2013-05-30 4 30 14 PM copy

Snakebite – a medium toned bronze that I use as a crease colour.

Suspect – A warm toned champagne with a hint of brown, that I use on the lid.

YDK – A medium toned brown with a frosty finish, that I LOVE to use in the crease.

LIPS:

Nivea Kiss of Milk and Honey Lip Balm

Photo 2013-05-30 5 54 00 PM copy

I got this way back when, when Ingrid did a fall haul. I thought this sounded like a great product, so I went out and bought it. (Typical ol’ me) I liked it back then, but I like it even more now. It smells really good, like honey (duh), and it keeps your lips moisturized. I normally have a day and a night lip balm, the day being in a tube, and the night being in a pot, but I have been using this for both. Once I run out, this is a definite must buy.

Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment – Original 

Photo 2013-05-30 5 46 24 PM copy

I got this as a Beauty Insider birthday gift from Sephora last year. I wasn’t really that interested in this, and I set it aside. I honestly don’t know why I did. I took it back out, and started using it, and I forgot how amazing it was! It keeps your lips SO hydrated. I smells amazing, just like lemons. I really want to get this, though it is rather expensive.

Photo 2013-05-30 4 28 52 PM copy

Maybelline Baby Lips in Pink Punch

Photo 2013-05-30 4 29 02 PM copy

This was my very first Baby Lips ever. This is a very sheer cool toned, hot pink. It smells like artificial fruit punch, as the name says, but it smells good!

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipgloss in Pink Pop

Photo 2013-05-30 4 29 08 PM copy

This is a nice lipgloss. I bought it originally, just because it was on sale, as Revlon was re-doing packaging. I heard good things about it, so I thought that I might as well give it a try. I ended really loving it on its own. I was looking through Miss Glamorazzi’s older videos, and I found that she layered this on top of either Pink Punch Baby Lips, or the Covergirl Gloss Balm in Watermelon Twist. For the majority of the month, I have been layering this.

Covergirl Jumbo Gloss Balm in Watermelon Twist

Photo 2013-05-30 4 29 15 PM copy

I’ve had this in previous favourites, but it is still a favourite for me. It feels really balmy, and it has a nice texture on the lips. It isn’t too over powering, as it is a balm, but it still has a nice colour. I like to layer this under Pink Pop.

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipgloss in Lilac Pastelle

Photo 2013-05-30 5 46 32 PM copy

I admit, this looks very scary in the tube, but on my lips it actually looks pretty good! I have medium pigmented lips, and on my lips it transforms into a milky baby pink. This lipgloss is definitely a hit or miss though, as it won’t work for everyone. You can still find this most places, probably on clearance, since they are redoing packaging, and this colour is being discontinued.

SKINCARE:

Mary Kay Velocity Facial Cleanser and Mary Kay Velocity Facial Moisturizer

Photo 2013-05-30 4 46 14 PM copy

These have been my two must haves for washing my face recently. The Velocity skincare range is made for teenage skin, and since I’m a teenager, I thought this range would work well. First up is the Facial Cleanser. The Facial Cleanser doesn’t just cleanse, it also exfoliates and tones the skin. Since I care a lot about my skin, I still use my trusty ol’ Bioderma. This makes my skin feel nice and fresh afterwards. Onto the Facial Moisturizer. It is a gel moisturizer, which I like, as I feel that gel sinks in faster into the skin. It keeps my skin nice and hydrated, but it is very light at the same time. Another plus is that it smells like peaches.

Bioderma Sensibio

Photo 2013-05-30 4 48 35 PM copy

Photo 2013-05-30 4 48 42 PM copy

I bet by now you’re thinking “Wow. What a surprise!” Yes, once again it is my Bioderma. At the end of April, I went to Murale, which is basically a Canadian version of Sephora, and it is also run by Shoppers Drug Mart, which is the main drugstore in Canada. I know that all Shoppers Drug Mart now sell Bioderma, but only Murale sells the big Practical Pump. I got this for $33 which is a pretty good deal, considering that for 250 mL, it is $22. This is 500 mL, and the actual retail price is $44. All in all I’m saving $11! This is a great cleansing water. I can either use this as a makeup remover, or as a toner. I like it as both. This is one of my holy grail items. I really want to try some more Micellaire/Cleansing Waters.

HAIR:

Macadamia Natural Oil Deep Repair Masque

Photo 2013-05-30 4 45 25 PM copy

I won’t go too much into detail with this as I have already reviewed it here. I have been using this as a deep conditioner on the weekend, after my clarifying shampoo.

FRAGRANCE:

PINK With a Splash Pretty and Pure Body Mist

Photo 2013-05-30 4 46 39 PM copy

This is the old packaging, and since I bought this, they have redone the packaging. I have been using more body mists this month instead of perfumes. This has pink lemonade in it, and I can definitely tell, and all in all it’s the perfect scent for summer!

So those were all my favourites this month! It was quite a lot of them! What were your favourites for May?

Leave a Reply

