April Favourites

This month went SO fast. It was my birthday almost 3 weeks ago and it went by SO fast. This year is going super fast. I know I’m super late AGAIN. But I have a plan. For the most part, the pictures are what takes me the longest. So now I have decided to take pictures of my products, before the post, probably a few days earlier, to save time, and to publish this on time. Before I start rambling on, let me just get onto my favourites!

FTC Disclaimer: All products mentioned are purchased by me. I am not being sponsored for this post. All opinions are my own.

MAKEUP

FACE:

CoverGirl Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 Foundation

Photo 2013-05-06 4 40 41 PM

This is AMAZING. I think this is going to become my Holy Grail Foundation. It is my favourite foundation. I really love how it is a 3 in 1 Foundation, which has the lasting power of a primer, coverage of a concealer, and the blendability of a foundation. This feels really nice on your skin. I have the lightest shade, which is 805 Ivory and it is a perfect match. This is a light coverage foundation, so it covers up blemishes, but I can still see my freckles. I love how this has a pump, as most drugstore foundations don’t. I got this for $9.49 at Target.

Maybelline Dream Matte Powder

Photo 2013-05-06 4 52 32 PM

Photo 2013-05-06 4 52 39 PM (1)

This has become my go to setting powder. I bought this because I knew that this was Ingrid’s or missglamorazzi’s on YouTube, favourite setting powder. This is a pretty good setting powder for the price, and it is not chalky at all. A definite great budget buy.

 Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Tipsy

Photo 2013-04-12 5 21 54 PM

 This looks orange in the pan, but once you put it on your face it looks like a beautiful coral. This is $31 in Canada, which is a tad pricey,  but with my VIB 15% coupon, from Chic Week, I got a discount! It lives up to its claim with it 12 Hour, as by the end of the day, it’s still on my face.

EYES:

Lorac PRO Palette- Nude, Cream, White, Champagne, Deep Purple, Espresso:

Photo 2013-05-06 4 40 53 PM

Photo 2013-05-06 4 44 16 PM

Photo 2013-05-06 4 44 38 PM

Photo 2013-05-06 4 44 53 PM (1)

White (MATTE): I use this as a inner corner highlight colour

Champagne (SHIMMER), Nude (SHIMMER), Cream (MATTE): I rotate these and I use them as an all over lid colour

Espresso, Deep Purple: I have been wearing smoky eyes a lot recently and these have been my go to crease colours

MAC Eyeshadows in Quarry, Shroom, and Woodwinked

Quarry

Quarry

Photo 2013-04-15 7 51 28 AM

Quarry is an amazing crease colour. It is a matte finish. It has quickly In my February Favourites, I mentioned Tease by Urban Decay which was very similar to Quarry. I did a side by side comparison and there is a bit of a difference: Quarry is a tad darker and leaning on the cooler side, while Tease is lighter than Quarry, and much warmer.

I like to pair this with Shroom, which has become one of my all time favourite lid colours. It is described on MAC’s website as a “soft beige with shimmer”. This is a satin finish. Possible dupes are for this eyeshadow are Maybelline Color Tattoo in Barely Branded or Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadow in Bikini-Tini.

Shroom

Shroom

Photo 2013-04-28 10 56 31 PM (1)

Woodwinked

Woodwinked

Woodwinked

Photo 2013-04-28 10 56 35 PM

“Warm Antique Gold”. This is probably the most accurate description of Woodwinked. In my words, Woodwinked is a Warm Gold that is orange based. That being said, you have to be careful with this eyeshadow, because since it is very orange based, it can sometimes be hard to pull off, or it will look a little strange. If you use this correctly though, it will turn out to be an antique gold colour. This is a Veluxe Pearl finish, meaning these shadows are Silky soft to the touch.

Covergirl Clump Crusher Mascara

Photo 2013-05-06 4 52 57 PM

Photo 2013-05-06 4 54 14 PM

This is one of my favourite mascaras (it’s official!), and I think it’s tied with my Maybelline The Falsies Flared, my all time favourite mascara. It has no clumps… AT ALL. This is a crazy mascara. I mean no clumps? That’s crazy talk. You can coat this on, and even let it dry and apply it again, and it will still look good! I think from now on, I am going to call it the Magic Mascara!

LIPS:

Covergirl Lip Perfection Jumbo Gloss Balm in Watermelon Twist

Photo 2013-05-06 4 51 33 PM (1)

Photo 2013-05-06 4 52 04 PM (1)

One of my favourite lip products ever. This is SO beautiful. With most gloss balms (i.e. Chubby Sticks, Revlon Kissable Balm Stains), its more about the hydration it gives your lips, rather than the color. Well behold, this is the best of both worlds! Hydrating and very pigmented! If you could only buy a few things from the drugstore, let this little baby be one of them!

Maybelline Baby Lips in Twinkle

Photo 2013-05-06 4 41 25 PM

Yes, my prayers have been answered. I found my last limited edition Baby Lips I was needing! And may I just start off by saying that the packaging is #totesadorbs ! 🙂 Moving on to the actual product, this smells amazing! It smells like summer. That’s the only thing I can compare it to. It doesn’t have a tint, but keep in mind it has a glorious scent!

HAIR:

Tresemme BB Cream for Hair and Bed Head After Party Smoothing Cream

Well, I forgot to take a picture of these, so I will take them later. This has to be the ultimate shiny, clean hair duo. The BB Cream you use while your hair is damp, and it gives it a shine boost, and the Smoothing Cream, is supposed to be applied to your hair when it is dry and is a great hair pick me up, and my makes your hair feel clean.

CLOTHING/ACCESSORIES:

Rose Gold Arm Candy

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 11.53.06 PM

So my first piece is a piece you probably recognize: It’s my bpTeen watch! I love the white with the detailing of the rose gold. My second piece is a new piece, and it is the Baublebar Roseland Disco Wrap. I knew I had to get this as soon as I got the alert to my email, as I was put on the email waitlist, because it always sold out, and let me tell you. I was desperate. Since I live in Canada, I realized Baublebar doesn’t ship to Canada! I went to desperate measures, and got some family who lives in the US to kindly order it for me, and ship it to me! I do not regret my desperateness. This was worth it! It is such a glammed up piece, but also very classy. I would put a link, but I cannot find the watch online, and you will only be able to sign up for the wishlist, as Baublebar is sold out of these again.

UPDATE: I was looking at their website and I saw that they have brought it back but it is on preorder. I would suggest getting it now, to insure you can get it. You can find it here.

RANDOM FAVOURITES:

iPhone 5

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 11.52.41 PM

Some people may know already as I posted a pic on instagram, but this months top favourite was definitely my iPhone 5. This is my BFF. I am very grateful for getting this from my wonderful parents, for my birthday. This is the best thing since sliced bread. It is now my camera that I use for this blog, as I am currently saving up for the Canon EOS T3i.

Ikea Alex 9 Drawer Set

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 11.53.27 PM

I bought this recently from Ikea (obviously) for $149, which is a pretty good price, if you are asking me! There are five small drawers, and four larger drawers. This is my new place to store my makeup, and it is the perfect place to keep it. The drawers are the perfect size, and all my makeup is now sorted!

instagram

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 11.55.07 PM

As most of you know, I am signed up to instagram. It is the coolest thing ever. I follow my favourite beauty gurus, and I am now more in the loop and hip and more with it. That was a reference to Austin Powers, in case you didn’t know! 🙂 My username is real_lauren_hill. Please follow me!

So that is April’s favourites. I hope you enjoyed this. What were your favourites this month? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

